Tomorrow at 11 am Michelle Gildernew MP (who holds the seat previously held by Bobby Sands MP) will meet with Kurdish Hunger strikers at the Kurdish Community Centre at 11 am.

The Haringey hunger strikers are striking in solidarity with many others across Turkey and Europe. The strike was started by the then-imprisoned MP of the People’s Democratic Party (HDP), Ms Leyla Güven,  on 7 November 2018.  Since then, more than 7,000 political prisoners across Turkey, and numerous members of the international community in Europe, the UK, North America, and the Middle East, have joined Ms Güven in declaring themselves to be on indefinite hunger strike, with the sole demand of ending the isolation imposed on Ocalan, the Kurdish leader. Many hunger strikers are now reaching a serious point and are suffering serious health problems, but they are refusing medical treatment until Ocalan’s isolation is lifted.

The human rights situation in Turkey has progressively deteriorated since the breakdown in 2015 of talks for a peaceful resolution of the decades-long conflict between Kurds and the Turkish State, at which point Turkey switched towards a policy of brutal repression against its Kurdish population, imposing harsh 24-hour curfews across the south-eastern Kurdistan region and committing countless human rights atrocities.

Please do come to the KCC tomorrow at 11 am to meet the strikers and the Sinn Fein MP who brings solidarity from Ireland, where they know the brutality of state violence only too well.

For further information please contact :

Peace in Kurdistan 

Campaign for a political solution of the Kurdish Question


Contacts Estella Schmid 020 7586 5892 & Melanie Gingell – Tel: 020 7272 7890

Patrons: John Austin, Christine Blower, NEU International Secretary, Prof Bill Bowring, Julie Christie, Noam Chomsky, Dr Cynthia Cockburn, Jeremy Corbyn MP,  Prof Mary Davis, Lord Dholakia, Simon Dubbins, UNITE International Director,  Jill Evans MEP, Lindsey German, Convenor STWC, Melanie Gingell, Rahila Gupta, Nick Hildyard, Dafydd Iwan, Former President Plaid Cymru, James Kelman, Bruce Kent, Jean Lambert MEP, Elfyn Llwyd, Aonghas MacNeacail, Scottish Gaelic poet, Mike Mansfield QC, Doug Nicholls, General Secretary, GFTU, Dr. Jessica Ayesha Northey, Sinn Fein MLA Conor Murphy, Dr Thomas Jeffrey Miley, Kate Osamor MP, Margaret Owen OBE, Gareth Peirce, Dr Felix Padel, Maxine Peake, Lord Rea, Joe Ryan, Stephen Smellie, Steve Sweeney, Dr Tove Skutnabb-Kangas, Dr Tom Wakeford, Dr Derek Wall, Julie Ward MEP, Hywel Williams MP