31 October 2014

Thousands are expected to gather in London’s Trafalgar Square this Saturday following a global call for action by signed hundreds of internationally renowned academics, writers, lawyers politicians and activists.[1] The final list of signatories is attached.

The rally, which will take place from 2pm until 5pm, has been organised in solidarity with the defence of Kobane, a city in the democratic autonomous region of Western Kurdistan in Syria (Rojava) which has been the scene of a fierce battle with ISIS militants in recent weeks.

Speakers at the rally will include Jean Lambert MEP and comedian Mark Thomas, among many others which will include representatives from the PYD and the Kurdish People’s Assembly UK. A broad spectrum of leftist and anti-imperialist organisations are expected to be represented also, mirroring the recent surge in support for the Kurdish defence of Kobane from a wide variety of social justice advocates across the world.

Demonstrations are set to take place in dozens of cities across the world on Saturday to mark the global day of action, from Bilbao to Jaipur, from Buenos Aires to Adelaide (see list attached). The demonstrations, along with the global call itself which includes such prominent signatories as Prof. Noam Chomsky and Archbishop Desmond Tutu, mark an unprecedented show of international solidarity with the Kurdish movement.


The London rally is organised by the Kurdish People’s Assembly and Peace in Kurdistan Campaign in cooperation with Kurdistan National Congress (KNK), Roj Women Assembly and Free Youth Movement and community organisations.



For information on the rally please contact the organisers:

Arzu Pesmen, Kurdish People’s Assembly:


Peace in Kurdistan Campaign
Estella Schmid 020 7586 5892 or mobile:

[1]. Read the press release about the global call for action here:

Peace in Kurdistan
Campaign for a political solution of the Kurdish Question
Contacts Estella Schmid 020 7586 5892 & Melanie  Sirinathsingh – Tel: 020 7272 7890
Patrons: Lord Avebury, Lord Rea, Lord Dholakia, Baroness Sarah Ludford, Jill Evans MEP, Jean Lambert MEP, Jeremy Corbyn MP, Hywel Williams MP, Elfyn Llwyd MP, Conor Murphy MP, John Austin, Bruce Kent, Gareth Peirce, Julie Christie, Noam Chomsky, John Berger, Edward Albee, Margaret Owen OBE, Prof Mary Davis, Mark Thomas, Nick Hildyard, Stephen Smellie