Peace in Kurdistan and the Kurdistan National Congress attended the Plaid Cymru Spring Conference in Newport last weekend.

Leader, Leanne Wood, gave the keynote speech, recalling the Newport Uprising in 1839 when 10,000 Chartists marched on the town demanding democratic reform. She said the Charter was about regaining control of lives, of communities and a new democratic landscape. She said that this was precisely what was needed today: a new charter, with equality, especially of income and justice. We should be vigilant as we leave the EU, that we don’t lose our hard-won rights. Inequality divides people and regions. Local councils must protect, heritage, culture and language.

On migration she said that we are more likely to be treated by someone who has migrated to this country than to see migrants in the queue. Migrants, migrant workers are welcome in Wales, she said.

There is a long history of solidarity between Plaid Cymru, the Welsh Movement and the Kurdish Movement. Jill Evans, MEP, highlighted the Kurdish Struggle for identity and for existence.

Hywel Williams MP, leader of the Westminster group, reiterated his support and solidarity with the Kurdish Movement, and will continue to highlight the issue wherever he can.

Liz Saville Roberts MP, who successfully tabled a 10 minute bill on reform of rape law recently, is particularly interested in accountability for Yezidi women victims of the genocide in Shengal.

Peace in Kurdistan is grateful for the warm welcome received in Wales and will continue to work with Plaid Cymru on common interests of culture, language and self-determination whenever we can.

Peace in Kurdistan
Campaign for a political solution of the Kurdish Question
Email: <>
Contacts Estella Schmid 020 7586 5892 & Melanie Gingell – Tel: 020 7272 7890
Fax: 020 7263 0596
Patrons: Lord Rea, Lord Dholakia, Baroness Sarah Ludford, Jill Evans MEP, Jean Lambert MEP, Jeremy Corbyn MP, Hywel Williams MP, Kate Osamor MP, Elfyn Llwyd, Dafydd Iwan, Former President Plaid Cymru, Sinn Fein MLA Conor Murphy, John Austin, Christine Blower, NUT International Secretary,  Simon Dubbins, UNITE International Director, Doug Nicholls, General Secretary, General Federations of Trade Unions, Bruce Kent, Gareth Peirce, Julie Christie, Noam Chomsky, James Kelman, Margaret Owen OBE, Prof Mary Davis, Dr Thomas Jeffrey Miley, Mark Thomas, Nick Hildyard, Stephen Smellie, Derek Wall, Melanie Gingell, Steve Sweeney